Llangorse has a rich and interesting history including Llangorse Lake, Crannog, Paragon Tower, Allt yr Esgair Iron Age Fort and St Paulinus Church. Here is some brief history about each but there is plenty more to discover when you visit!
Llangorse Lake & Crannog
Crannogs are artificial islands built of timber and stones on which some form of settlement usually stood. Crannogs are more common to Ireland and Scotland, where they occur from prehistory through to the medieval period. Llangorse Lake Crannog is the only known example of a Crannog in Wales, and the only known example in the world outside Scotland or Ireland!
The Crannog dates back at least as far as the late 9th or early 10th Century. It was excavated in the late 1980s and early 1990s, with some spectacular finds, including a fragment of fine linen decorated with pictures of animals and plants (to have textiles dating back to the 10th Century is very rare and exciting!). Its careful construction and spectacular finds suggest that this was a high status site, and one interpretation of this evidence is that the Crannog may have been home to the early medieval Kings of Brycheiniog.
A Victorian built folly or hunting lodge, Paragon tower is a romantic ruin which sits amidst woodland. This round structure has four rooms, each of which has a fireplace linking into the central chimney. It is said that the Ladies of local estates would wait in the tower whilst the Lords were out hunting, and the tower’s location provided a fantastic view of the land and the hunting below.
Allt yr Esgair Iron Age Fort
This Iron Age fort lies atop a hill above Llangorse Lake. The fort was constructed sometime between 800BC and the arrival of the Romans in the area in the AD70s and occupied throughout the Iron Age period and perhaps even beyond. It is likely that this large hillfort was an important regional centre for the Iron Age people who lived here. The large earthen ramparts are still visible today even after all these years, and the views from this vantage point are breathtaking.
St Paulinus Church
The first reference to a church building is 1211. The present church was constructed in the 15th century; there was a major restoration in 1874 when the beautiful barrel roof in the south aisle was retained together with the tudor doorway, windows and priest’s door in the south wall. The church has a “weeping sanctuary”, Byfield organ, six bells and mass dial. The church registers date from 1692.
Plan Your Visit!
Take a look at the very best exciting activities on offer!
Read More ›
Llangorse gives the gift of adventure and promises to offer a trip to remember!
Read More ›
Llangorse is the perfect base to stay and explore and offers a broad range of accommodation to suit everyone.
Read More ›
Eat & Drink
Looking for a traditional country pub or a cafe with spectacular views? Llangorse has the perfect stops!